TL;DR
Get cleaning gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
CNET’s smart home deal guide, updated Oct. 5, lists Prime Day prices for several video doorbells, including Blink at $36, Ring at $150 and Arlo at $29. The guide says its deals team will add offers during the sale; the supplied report does not establish how long each price will last or whether every offer will remain available.
CNET updated its guide to October Prime Day smart home deals on Oct. 5, listing reduced prices on devices from Blink, Ring and Arlo ahead of Amazon’s sale. The prices make the guide useful to shoppers comparing doorbells and home security equipment, though the report says offers may change and does not provide a confirmed end time for each deal.
The listed doorbell prices include the Blink Battery Doorbell 2K Plus for $36, which CNET says is $44 off; the Ring Wired Doorbell 4K Pro for $150, marked $100 off; and the Arlo Video Doorbell 2K, second generation, for $29, marked $51 off. These are prices reported in CNET’s guide, rather than a guarantee that inventory or pricing will remain the same when a shopper visits a retailer.
CNET’s reviewer describes the Blink as a wireless model with 2K video, two-way audio and person detection that does not require a subscription. The guide distinguishes those features from cloud video storage and more advanced AI functions, which may require a paid plan. It also advises buyers to account for a Blink Sync Module to connect the device to Wi-Fi, or a larger module for local video storage.
The Ring model is wired, according to the guide, so buyers need to check whether their existing doorbell wiring suits the installation. CNET lists object recognition, 4K video and two-way audio among its features. Some described functions depend on services: the guide associates Alexa Plus doorbell conversations with a Prime subscription and says Ring’s cloud storage and AI-generated descriptions require a Ring subscription. Arlo’s listed advanced detection features also depend on a subscription, which CNET says starts at $8 per month.
What Doorbell Buyers Should Compare
The sale prices put several products with different costs and feature sets side by side. A low purchase price does not by itself show the full cost of ownership: shoppers may also need a compatible module, existing wiring or a recurring subscription to use specific storage and detection features. Those distinctions matter when comparing a $29 Arlo listing with a $36 Blink listing or a higher-priced Ring model.
The report also highlights trade-offs in how devices connect and store footage. Blink’s guide entry describes local storage as an option with an additional module, while Ring and Arlo descriptions emphasize paid services for some capabilities. Buyers who want basic alerts may weigh the products differently from those seeking cloud archives or more advanced detection. CNET’s report provides product descriptions and its reviewer’s testing experience, but it does not offer a complete cost comparison across subscription plans.
Because the guide is being updated during a sale period, timing is relevant too. A listed discount is a snapshot from the article, not a promise that the same price will be available later. Readers should check the retailer’s current listing, included hardware and subscription terms before purchasing.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the Deal Guide Is Framed
CNET’s article presents the offers as early deals for Amazon’s October Prime Day event. It was updated on Oct. 5, 2026, at 3:17 p.m. EDT, and says the deals team and reviewer will add smart home offers throughout the event. The report frames the products around common home upgrades such as video doorbells, cameras, smart lights, plugs and thermostats.
The guide says its reviewer has spent much of the past year testing smart home and home security devices, and describes more than a decade of experience with the category. That information identifies the basis for the product recommendations as the article presents them; it does not independently verify each retailer’s price or stock. The supplied material includes detailed entries for three doorbells but only introductory references to other categories, so it does not support a complete account of all the “20+” discounts in the headline.
Among the three entries with full pricing details, the devices differ in ways that affect suitability. Blink is presented as a battery-powered wireless doorbell; Ring’s listed 4K Pro model is wired; and CNET says the Arlo doorbell can be used in wired or wireless form. The guide also describes subscription-dependent features for Ring and Arlo. These details help explain why the lowest price alone may not determine which device fits a household.
““The deals team and I will be adding new smart home deals throughout the event.””
— CNET deal guide
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Prices, Stock and Plan Costs
The report does not state a firm end time for the listed prices, confirm how much stock is available or establish whether the offers will be accessible to all shoppers. Retail prices can change during a sale, so the amounts in the guide should be treated as the prices it reported at publication or update time.
The supplied source material also ends partway through its discussion of a Reolink doorbell and does not include the full list of deals mentioned in the headline. It therefore does not establish the exact number of current offers, their prices, or whether products from Nanoleaf and other brands are discounted. Subscription costs beyond the starting prices cited for Ring and Arlo, along with the price of the Blink module, are not specified in the material provided.
home security camera with person detection
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Watch for Sale Updates
CNET says it plans to add smart home deals as the Prime Day event proceeds. Shoppers following the guide can check for price and product updates, then compare each retailer listing with the article’s feature notes. Before ordering, they can verify the final checkout price, current availability, what hardware is included and whether desired storage or detection features require a paid plan.
For the wired Ring model, the guide specifically advises checking doorbell wiring before buying. For the Blink model, buyers can determine whether they need a Sync Module and whether local video storage is a priority. CNET’s supplied entry says Arlo’s more advanced detection features are tied to a subscription, so the current plan details may affect the total cost for anyone who wants those functions.
The next clear development is whether CNET adds further offers or updates the listed prices during the sale. The material provided does not give a closing date or confirm later price changes, so those details remain subject to updates from the retailer and the guide.
smart home security system discounts
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Which doorbell deals does the supplied CNET report list?
It lists the Blink Battery Doorbell 2K Plus at $36, the Ring Wired Doorbell 4K Pro at $150 and the Arlo Video Doorbell 2K, second generation, at $29. The report gives savings figures of $44, $100 and $51, respectively.
Do the listed doorbells require subscriptions?
The guide says Blink person detection is available without a subscription, while cloud video storage and more advanced AI features may require payment. It says Ring subscriptions provide features such as cloud storage and AI-generated descriptions, and Arlo’s advanced detection features require a plan starting at $8 per month. Check current terms before buying.
When do these Prime Day prices end?
The supplied report does not provide a firm end time for any of the listed offers. It says the deals team will update the guide during the event, so shoppers should verify the retailer’s current price and availability.
Does the source confirm discounts on Nanoleaf products?
The article headline mentions Nanoleaf, but the supplied material does not include a Nanoleaf product entry or price. It is not enough to confirm a specific Nanoleaf discount.
Source: rss
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
