TL;DR
Apple’s HomeView is offered in tabletop and wall-mounted versions, both priced at $299, but the models are not interchangeable after purchase. The tabletop version includes a more powerful speaker base and needs only a nearby outlet; the wall model requires a separate mount, with options ranging from $59.95 to $129.95 before any installation costs.
Apple’s HomeView comes in two $299 versions—a tabletop display with a speaker base and a wall-mounted model without that base—so buyers need to choose their setup before ordering. A CNET report says the wall version also requires a separately priced mount, and some installation options may call for a licensed electrician.
Both models include a 7-inch Liquid Retina display and are designed to serve as a central screen for entertainment, smart-home controls and security monitoring. The report says both support face recognition for personalized accounts, Messages, FaceTime, Calendar, Reminders, Find My and Siri AI. The report places HomeView’s release on Nov. 13 and discusses preorders, but does not specify the year.
The tabletop display is attached to its speaker base; it is not a screen that can be detached and later moved onto a wall mount. Its base includes down-firing woofers, two passive radiators and two full-range drivers. CNET’s reviewer described the sound as loud with deep bass in a spacious demonstration area. The tabletop model uses a power adapter and USB-C cable to connect to an outlet.
The wall-mounted model costs the same as the tabletop version, but does not include the speaker base. Apple’s three listed Schneider Home mount options are the USB-C Power Mount at $59.95, the AC Wired Power Mount at $79.95, and the Power over Ethernet (PoE) Wired Power Mount at $129.95. The USB-C mount also requires a separate 20-watt power adapter; the hardwired AC option supplies 30 watts through a single-gang wall box, while PoE carries power and a wired network connection over Ethernet.
Choosing the Setup Before You Order
Because the models are not convertible into one another, the choice affects more than where the screen sits. Buyers selecting the tabletop unit get stronger built-in audio and a simpler plug-in setup. Those choosing the wall model give up that speaker base and need to account for the cost of a mount, any required power adapter, and potentially professional installation.
The differences may matter especially to renters and homeowners. The tabletop model can be placed near an outlet without a permanent installation, while wall mounting may require drilling or work on household wiring. For a security or smart-home dashboard, the wall options offer a fixed installation; PoE also provides a wired network connection that does not depend on Wi-Fi. The report presents these as practical trade-offs, not evidence that one model is best for every household.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Three Mounts, Different Trade-Offs
The least expensive wall option, the $59.95 USB-C mount, attaches to the wall and supplies a cable, but the cable remains visible and a separate 20-watt power adapter is needed. The report describes it as the easiest and least costly mount and says it could suit renters willing to make small screw holes or homeowners who do not mind a visible cable.
The $79.95 AC Wired mount is designed to connect through a single-gang wall box and sit flush against the wall. Apple recommends that a licensed electrician install it. Licensed master electrician Michael Malfettone told CNET it is a suitable choice for many homeowners because it uses existing home power and avoids a visible cord. His assessment is expert advice, not an Apple installation requirement beyond the company’s stated recommendation.
The $129.95 PoE mount is intended for homes with compatible Ethernet wiring and a power-over-Ethernet switch, or where that wiring is being installed during a remodel. Malfettone said it suits people seeking a wired, continuously connected setup. The report also mentions possible ADT installation service for the PoE option, but says details were still pending from Apple.
“The tabletop HomeView is impressively loud, with deep, booming sound even in a spacious demo area.”
— CNET reviewer Ajay Kumar
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Installation and Service Details Pending
The source report does not specify the year of the Nov. 13 release, or provide final details about the cost or availability of electrician installation. It says Apple recommends a licensed electrician for the AC Wired mount, but does not state that every wall-mount option requires professional installation.
Details about the referenced ADT service were also unresolved when the report was published. An Apple representative had not immediately responded to a request for information, and the report said it was still unclear whether ADT’s role would be an Apple partnership or a service customers could book directly. The source material also does not establish final installation pricing, local availability, or whether those arrangements have since changed.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Check Costs Before Preordering
Before ordering, buyers should confirm which model they want and add the relevant mount and power needs to the total. Tabletop buyers should check for a suitable nearby outlet. Wall-mount buyers should confirm whether their chosen option requires a separate adapter, compatible Ethernet equipment or a licensed electrician, and verify current pricing and service availability with Apple and the relevant installer.
The next practical milestone is the stated Nov. 13 release; the source does not give a year or confirm whether the date remains current. Buyers considering hardwired installation should consult a qualified electrician before work begins and check applicable local requirements. The available report does not say whether Apple has since clarified the ADT arrangements or installation costs.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
Do both Apple HomeView models cost $299?
Yes. The source report lists both the tabletop and wall-mounted models at $299. The wall model’s mount is an additional cost, ranging from $59.95 to $129.95 in the options described.
Can the tabletop HomeView be detached and wall-mounted later?
No. According to the report, the tabletop screen is attached to its speaker base, and the two models are not interchangeable. Buyers should choose their preferred form before purchasing.
Which wall mount is the least expensive?
The USB-C Power Mount costs $59.95. It includes an attached USB-C cable but requires a separate 20-watt power adapter, and the cable may be visible. The report lists AC Wired at $79.95 and PoE Wired at $129.95.
Does the wall-mounted model have the same speaker base?
No. The wall-mounted HomeView does not include the tabletop model’s speaker base, so buyers choosing it should not expect the same built-in audio setup.
Is electrician installation required for every wall mount?
The report says Apple recommends a licensed electrician for the AC Wired mount. It describes the USB-C mount as a self-install option, while PoE requires compatible network wiring and equipment. Check the current instructions and local requirements before installation.
Source: rss